The website that brings you all
your running news, online, 24/7


18 June 2019

The Comrades Marathon Association (CMA) has confirmed that qualifying events for the 2020 Comrades Marathon will include all official marathons being held between 25 August 2019 and 2 May 2020.
CMA Race Director, Rowyn James has confirmed that the CMA has formally retracted the clause mentioned in the 2019 Entry Form that the qualifying period for the 2020 race will coincide with the opening of entries.
James says, “The CMA Board decided to review this decision in the best interest of the sport of road-running. We are pleased to confirm that the qualifying period for the 2020 Comrades Marathon will be unchanged from that of recent years, with official Comrades qualifying races between 25 August 2019 to 2 May 2020 run in a time of 4hr50min for a standard 42.2km marathon, and  a sliding scale of commensurate qualifying times for events longer than 42,2km.”
CMA Chairperson, Cheryl Winn said, “The prevailing sentiment of the CMA Board is that, as the Comrades Marathon we have an obligation to the greater running community in terms of supporting other races which are in many instances both their respective club’s and province’s lifelines.”
Note: The 2020 Comrades Marathon will be a Down Run on Sunday, 14 June 2020, starting at the Pietermaritzburg City Hall at 05h30 and finishing 12 hours later at the Moses Mabhida Stadium in Durban.

Article Keywords

Share this article on facebook?
Tweet about this article?


No popular articles found


© Copyright Run24. All Rights Reserved. Website designed and hosted by LIT Creations. You are visitor number: 1198235