The website that brings you all
your running news, online, 24/7


18 November 2019

Lucky Miya has taken the K-Way SkyRun title for the 2nd time in 4 years, winning in a very respectable 13hrs56min22sec, despite hot and dry conditions. 
“It was a wonderful day today, but very tough,” laughs Lucky. “The 2nd half was brutal, but I am glad I managed to hold on and take the title!” Keeping it a completely South African podium, Grobler Basson took 2nd place in a time of 14hrs49min35sec, and 3rd place to Jaco Barnard in a time of 15hrs56min20sec. 
SkyRun virgin, but no stranger to endurance sports, Jeannie Dreyer, was the first lady over the finish line, and 9th overall, in the 100km route in a time of 17hrs48min25sec. “What an amazing feeling to have finished this incredible race,” says Jeannie. “I now understand why people keep coming back to do this event every year. The mountains and vistas out on the course are like nothing I have ever seen before!” Tarrin van Niekerk took 2nd place in 20hrs18min46sec and Shale Biggs in 3rd place in a time of 21hrs33min06sec.
The perfect racing conditions saw K-Way South Africa athlete, AJ Calitz, take first place in the 65km route in a time of 8hrs40min54sec, beating Ryno Griesel’s 2016 record time of 8hrs46min22sec. “It was very hot out today, but all in all a great day out in the mountains!” says AJ Calitz. Second place went to fellow South African, Bradley Claase in 09hrs12min10sec, and Belgian, Thomas de Beenhouwer in 3rdplace in 9hrs38min46sec.
Jade Pickard took podium position amongst the 65km ladies in a time of 12hrs23min06sec, with Meghan West in 2nd place in 12hrs29min03sec and Sofi Ackerman in 3rd position in a time of 12hrs48min37sec. “I am super chuffed with my win today,” says leading lady Jade Pickard. “I won’t lie, it was very tough out there, the mountains just seemed to go on forever, but I made some amazing friends out there today and couldn’t have asked for a better end to the day!”

The 38km route was won by Jarryd Dunn in 4hrs43min15sec, with Nicolette Griffioen taking 2nd place overall in 4hrs47min11sec and Delphinus Sauer in 3rd place in a time of 5hrs31min2616sec.
“It was great to be back to our original route this year, after having to make route changes last year due to local municipal strikes in Lady Grey,” says race organiser, Michael de Haast from Pure Adventures. “The very hot conditions and extreme dryness due to the drought in the area ensured that the race lived up to its name of being the toughest mountain race in Southern African.”
100km overall
1.       Lucky Miya                                          13hrs56min22sec
2.       Grobler Basson                                                 14hrs49min35sec
3.       Jaco Barnard                                      15hrs56min20sec

100km Women
1.       Jeannie Dreyer                                 17hrs48min25sec
2.       Tarrin van Niekerk                           20hrs18min46sec
3.       Shale Biggs                                          21hrs33min06sec

65km Men
1.       AJ Calitz                                                08hrs40min54sec
2.       Bradley Claase                                   09hrs12min10sec
3.       Thomas de Beenhouwer              09hrs38min46sec

65km Women
1.       Jade Pickard                                       12hrs23min06sec
2.       Meghan West                                   12hrs29min03sec
3.       Sofi Ackerman                                   12hrs48min37sec

38km Overall
1.       Jarryd Dunn                                        4hrs43min15sec
2.       Nicolette Griffioen                          4hrs47min11sec
3.       Delphinus Sauer                               5hrs31min16sec

38km Ladies
1.       Nicolette Griffioen                          4hrs47min11sec
2.       Kristen Heath                                    6hrs11min05sec
3.       Dorothy Jordaan                              7hrs32min29sec                                

Article Keywords

Share this article on facebook?
Tweet about this article?


No popular articles found


© Copyright Run24. All Rights Reserved. Website designed and hosted by LIT Creations. You are visitor number: 1229280